top of page
  • Ellen Tandojo

after

There’s a box somewhere in my home, hidden underneath a loose floorboard in one of the empty guest rooms (and I've plenty of those). No one knows of its existence but myself.


And though it’s been there for quite some time–sometimes I even forget it exists–I still remember its contents, clear as day: red roses (those would be dry by now), love letters smelling of perfume and champagne; kept in envelopes sealed with lipstick stains. Airplane tickets to Valencia, three frequently-listened-to vintage jazz records (two were Crosby and one Nat King Cole) that used to belong to my grandparents, and dozens and dozens of photographs.


I never open it. It reminds me too much of you.

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

crying in the club

It’s Friday night and there’s a girl I don’t know pressing up against me, sweaty skin clinging to mine like film on top of sticky rice...

pre-flight turbulence

“Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. On behalf of the entire crew, we welcome you on board…” There’s a middle-aged man...

some nights

Some nights are sleepless and Opal lies awake in the spacious bed in Steven's bedroom, tossing and turning. Nighttime lighting in his...

Comments


bottom of page